top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVirginia Cipolla

10 Dresses, 1 Pair of Floral Mickey Ears- Day 2

Dress #2, A timeless eye catcher!

Dress #2" Simple Flavor Women's Vintage Dress Sleeveless O-Neck Party Cocktail Dress in green from Amazon

My mom selected dress number two for today’s adventures. Out of the ten dresses I brought with me, this was the best choice for today. We didn’t go to any of the Disney parks. Instead we hung out by the pool, and then went to Disney Springs for dinner, and to my slight dismay, to see the movie Dora the Explorer (it actually wasn’t terrible). If you’re not familiar with Disney Springs, it was formerly known as Downtown Disney. It’s basically a huge outdoor mall with tons of shopping, dining, and drinking. It boasts some neat sights like the Lego store- the home to a giant Lego sea serpent swimming in the water, among other statues and photo op street art. There’s also a fun little outdoor concert area with boppy tunes that drew my niece like a moth to a flame. Most importantly, this is where one can find the Disney Dress Shop.

HAD to make the pilgrimage to the Dress Shop on Cherry Tree Lane!

I won’t go too much into detail about our time in the dress shop, I’ll save that for the next post when I feature the dress I got today. Spoiler- IT HAS POCKETS! I will say, I love going there, even if it’s just to look around. The dresses are gorgeous, and they’ve added matching children’s dresses to their racks. So if you like to dress the same as your mini-me, this is a great place to go, albeit on the expensive end of clothing.


Just blending in...

I thought my niece was going to beg to get matching dresses because she’s taken to calling us “twinsies” on this trip, but luckily she got distracted by a pizza purse. She has even started insisting that she take photos whenever I do, and then imitates my poses. This is simultaneously cute, and scary (am I creating a monster?). She decided to leave her floral Mickey Ears behind tonight because I put her hair into a high side bun, and glittered the heck out of it (check out the photos below).

Sprinkling a little "Tinker Belle dust" onto her hair was an easy, fun and inexpensive way to make her feel special! Holographic Body Glitter Gel: $12.58 from Amazon

When anyone complimented my floral Mickey Ears, she would immediately jump to say, “I have a pair with flowers too!” Luckily, she didn’t catch every compliment on my outfit and ears, or it would’ve gotten old fast. I was pleasantly surprised to have at least 7 or 8 strangers compliment my ensemble. Thanks mom for picking this dress!


This baby is an absolute eye catcher. The flow skirt, bright seafoam green color, and clean polka dots make for a really classic look. Thanks again mom! I probably would have chosen to wear this to Hollywood Studios tomorrow without her help, but I’m glad I got to wear this timeless piece out for a night on the town for two reasons. First, I got a ton of compliments (who doesn’t like compliments?) and second, It was HOT. While this dress truly is striking, the fabric is 100% polyester, and it feels almost like a cheap silk. AKA it is not good material for the heat, and I was sweating- PROFUSELY. Needless to say, I’m glad I wore it in the late afternoon and evening once it had cooled down a little, or I might have thrown this dress straight into the donation bin. Especially because it has no pockets! If I were scoring this dress for functionality, I would give it a hard and fast zero. I may still donate it, but maybe not right a way. Other than sweating a little more, it is a very comfortable wear. Plus, I did truly feel beautiful in it.

I may be looking for function in fashion, but I think it’s rare to find an article of clothing that makes you feel radiant. Don’t you?

I’m looking forward to telling you about the Dress Shop tomorrow, and wearing a dress with pockets. Hopefully, I will be without a purse all day! Until then, may you find pockets to rival your purses!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page