top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVirginia Cipolla

10 Dresses, 1 Pair of Floral Mickey Ears- Day 1

Updated: Aug 9, 2019

Is it possible to match ten different dresses to one pair of floral Mickey Ears?

Dress #1



Dress #1: GownTown Women's 1950's Vintage Rockabilly Swing Stretchy Dress from Amazon

It's 1:04 am, and I am just sitting down to write this post after spending the day at Epcot with my inexhaustible niece, and my now exhausted mother. We left for the airport at 3:00 am this morning, so just a heads up, I intend this post to be short and sweet.


Now that my short-post-disclaimer is out of the way, let me start with this. If Amazon tells you they have adult-sized floral Mickey Ears, it is a dirty rotten LIE! If you find a pair with the description, "suitable for children and adults," and even if it has reviews that say, "I'm an adult, they fit me!" LIES! It's all LIES! I scoured Amazon for floral Mickey Ears because I was running out of time, and I thought a pair from Etsy would be delivered too late (plus, Prime delivery is life). You can see the Amazon pair I originally ordered on my niece's tiny, 6 year old head below. If you are looking for a child sized pair, Amazon is great. Inexpensive, sturdy, cute, and niece approved! You can compare the child-sized Ears to the Etsy Ears that actually fit my somewhat larger than normal noggin.



So, how does one select a pair of floral Mickey Ears to match with 10 different dresses? At first, I was looking at neutral colored Ears- ie. beige, white, creme, you get the idea. Most of them were boring, and the challenge started to seem a little lackluster. Instead of taking the easy route, I decided my only criteria for selecting floral Mickey Ears would be to choose colorful flowers and find a fast shipping date. This seemed easier said than done.


At first the task was daunting. I recommend leaving plenty of time to order your Ears. I was fairly limited in my options based solely on the delivery date. Then, I stumbled across Practicallyperfect00's store. There I found a pair of floral Mickey Ears that arrived on time (who needs Prime?), are very colorful, and are Little Mermaid themed. I think the purple, red, teal, and lavender flowers make this a challenging accessory to match with 10 different dresses. At some point during this mini-series, I'll explain how to use the color wheel to select your outfits, and let you decide if you think I'm color blind, or a color genius. For dress #1, I picked my easiest choice so that my tired brain could get some rest after traveling and hopping right into the parks.


Dress #1: Should I call it the Sleeping Beauty, or Snow White dress?

I chose this dress for two main reasons. 1.) It reminded of a Disney Princess. 2.) The light blue color matched the light blue/teal flowers in the headband. This dress really felt like a no-brainer with its well matched color and comfy fit. The geometric pattern reminded of Sleeping Beauty's blue dress, and a random person in line told me I looked like snow white in this dress- clearly she caught the princess vibes too.


I also wanted material that would keep me as cool as possible in the Florida heat, and this fabric made of up 65% cotton, 30% chinlon, and 5% spandex was a good choice. I liked the way the fabric looked and the stretchy fit. However, chinlon, a nylon fabric, is cheaper, and does not hold up well to wear and tear. Overall though, I was very comfortable in this dress.




There is only one thing that could possibly improve this dress...POCKETS. Believe me, I tried to find a dress with pockets, but this proved to be extremely challenging (I hope that they're out there). Don't worry, I do have some lovely dresses with pockets coming up, but I can't even say the majority of the 10 dresses are so blessed. As a result of being pocket-less, I spent all day carting around a little back-pack-purse. Imagine, you're trying to make fast-pass times and dinner reservations. All the while taking your back-pack off and on, on and off, until the END OF TIME! Okay, I'm being a little dramatic, but it was a pain in the tush to constantly go digging for my phone anytime I wanted to take a quick snap, text home, or check the time. Has anyone ever sewn pockets to a dress? Today's pocket-less existence has got me thinking I should do a post on adding pockets to one's dresses. Let me know if you would be interested in something like that in the comments!


Until tomorrow, may you find pockets to rival your purses!



Stopping for an Eskimo kiss in Epcot's China!


41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page